Lazy Days of Summer

So school has been out for about two months. Right about now, your kids are driving you crazy!?! You have begun the count down to what every mother knows is the real Mother’s Day — the first day of school.

Before you put your kids in a box marked “free kids” and take them to the grocery store in hopes of finding them a good home, take a deep breath, mix a mojito and remember that summer is a time for moms to play too.

One summer, I had reached this point when we decided to go camping. The whole family — my parents , my brother and sister and their spouses and a couple of family friends — congregated at a lake just east of the mountains.

The weekend was filled with hiking (okay really short walks on level ground), swimming, fishing, making s’mores, and telling stories around the fire.

On a particularly hot day (’cause that is the only way I am getting in the water without access to a blow dryer to fix my hair), the girls and I were swimming and goofing around in the water. When we got tired, all three of us climbed into the rubber raft listening to the quiet of the mountain lake as it lapped against the boat and enjoying the warmth of the sun on our skin.

I had begun to lightly doze when I heard my 5 year old say quietly, “Mommy, I like it when you’re relaxed.”

From the mouths of babes….

Too often summer becomes an extension of our overly scheduled lives. Rather than organizing activities for two hours a day during the school year, we now feel as though we have to organize 10 hours of activities during the summer.

Summer is the best time to relax. Kids don’t need much; just a cooler full of sandwiches, fruit and juice at a lifeguarded beach with some of your attention is enough. Just remember to mark the container that is mixed with vodka!

Work in the morning, play in the afternoon and chill in the evening. Carpool schedules, homework projects and PTA meetings will come soon enough.

Take this time to relax!

What are your ideas for summer fun with kids?

About The Momarchy

As a single mom, I was desperate to restore some semblance of order to my life and enjoy raising my children. My children are adults now and I believe I achieved my goal. This blog post is to share what worked, what didn't and what I learned from the other wise women in my life. Take what you need or share what you learned. Married or single, it does take a village to raise a child. Ladies...this is our village.
This entry was posted in Quality Time, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

We want to hear from you!

